Hungerfree in Ramadan – food for families in need in Afghanistan and Turkey

Project start: 2024

Around 10% of the world’s population goes hungry – even though a life free from hunger is a human right. Years of war and dangerous humanitarian crises have left large parts of the Afghan and Syrian populations at the mercy of starvation without support. However, both crises are in danger of disappearing from the public eye.

With this year’s humanitarian emergency relief during the Islamic fasting month of Ramadan, we would like to set an example of solidarity. Together, we can reach 120 Afghan families and 150 families in Turkey – mainly Syrian refugees – with food packages so that they can get through the holy month of Ramadan hunger-free.

Thank you so much for your support, which makes this emergency relief possible!

One year after the devastating earthquakes in Syria and Turkey, the situation is only getting worse. Acute relief efforts have come to an end, but the establishment of new structures is slow. Households in north-western Syria and Turkey are struggling with rising prices for basic foodstuffs, which they often can no longer afford. Due to the high unemployment rate, overall poverty has risen to an estimated 90%.

Also In Afghanistan, too, the political, financial and humanitarian crises have continued to escalate since the Taliban took power in August 2021. Currently, around 29.2 million people (almost ¾ of the population!) are dependent on humanitarian relief from aid organizations – 15.8 million of them are children. Due to the economic collapse and droughts, many families do not know where their next meal will come from. Around 13.1 million Afghans do not have enough money for food and go to bed hungry.

Hungerfree in Ramadan

The fasting month of Ramadan is one of the most important months for devout Muslims. During this time, it is particularly important to think of those who do not have the financial means to provide themselves with food and are therefore suffering from hunger. In addition to abstaining from food and drink, the focus is on charity, compassion and solidarity. Many Muslims also make zakat, an annual donation to people in need, during Ramadan.

Due to the ongoing catastrophic situation one year after the severe earthquakes, this year’s Ramadan emergency relief is also aimed for the first time at Syrian families who have fled to the Turkish city of Hatay on the border with Syria. In addition, we want to reach families affected by financial poverty and hunger in Mazar-e-Sharif, Afghanistan, with food packages.
With your donation, you are sending an important signal of solidarity with people who have been suffering from displacement, violence, natural disasters and financial poverty for years!

As part of our humanitarian emergency relief, we are able to distribute food packages to an estimated 270 families in need in Afghanistan and Turkey – 120 Afghan and 150 Syrian families. The packages for the Syrian families probably contain 2kg of dates, 8l of oil, 3kg of sugar, 3kg of rice, 3kg of pasta, 6kg of lentils, 2.4kg of tomato paste, 3kg of bulgur and 3l of juice. For the packages of Afghan families 50kg flour, 24kg rice, 10kg beans, 5kg noodles, 2kg tomato paste, 2 packs of dates, 1kg tea, 7kg sugar and 10l oil are planned. The composition of the packages is based on the needs of the respective regions as determined by our local partners. However, based on price fluctuations and changing availability, these can still change.*

Local partner organizations

OASE (Organization of Afghan Support for Education), with whom we have already successfully implemented countless projects in Afghanistan, is responsible for the local project organization in Afghanistan. The employees are very well networked in Mazar-e-Sharif and
bring valuable expertise to the catastrophic humanitarian situation on the ground.

Maram is our local project organization for the distribution of emergency relief in
Hatay. We got to know the organization and its work personally on our project trip last year after the earthquakes in Syria and Turkey. The organization Maram has been active since the beginning of the Syrian war in 2011 (a girl of the same name is the inspiration for the name, who was paralyzed by the shelling of her village during the organization’s first mission on the Syrian-Turkish border) and has already been able to reach over 2 million people in Syria and neighbouring countries.

Humanitarian crises in Afghanistan

Since the Taliban came to power, Afghanistan has become one of the biggest humanitarian emergencies in the world. The rights of women and girls in particular have been severely restricted since then. In addition to the unstable political and economic situation, severe earthquakes shook the provinces of Herat, Badghis and Farah in October last year. Many families have not only lost their homes, but their entire livelihoods.

On top, Afghanistan is also the country hardest hit by climate change in the world. Devastating droughts and unbearable heat not only weaken people and livestock, but also have a significant impact on agriculture. There is hardly any water and the harvests are inadequate. Almost half of the Afghan population suffers from malnutrition today. Currently, 50% of children under the age of 5 are at risk of starvation. Afghans are one of the most vulnerable population groups and we all have a responsibility to support them and show solidarity and charity.

Humanitarian crises in Syria and Turkey

After more than 13 years of conflict and economic destruction, Syria is not only the country with the largest number of internally displaced people in the world (around 32% of the total population), but also with an estimated 15.3 million people in need of humanitarian aid.

In north-western Syria, almost 90% of the 4.6 million inhabitants are now dependent on humanitarian aid, most of them women and children. The multidimensional crises and the consequences of the earthquake will probably significantly increase the stress factors. In the north-western region, 3.3 million people are already suffering from food insecurity. The Turkish province of Hatay on the border with Syria was the worst affected by the earthquakes, with entire districts destroyed. Since then, around 187,000 people have been living in temporary container villages and are in urgent need of humanitarian aid.

*This is the estimated cost of an emergency relief distribution package:

Afghanistan: 99€ per package goes directly to the families in the form of food, 30€ to our local partner organization OASE for personnel costs and the implementation of package distribution, 5€ for bank and international transaction fees and 7€ for the coordination of emergency relief in Germany.

Turkey/Syria: 53 per package will go directly to the families in the form of food, €14 to our local partner organization Maram for personnel costs and the implementation of package distribution and €4 for the coordination of emergency relief in Germany.

The individual prices can change daily due to factors such as the exchange rate and fluctuations in food prices, thus affecting the total price of a package. Price fluctuations therefore have a direct impact on the amount of food that is provided and therefore on the number of families that can be reached with the packages.

If we even manage to exceed the donation target, the surplus will go towards our education projects.

Thank you so much for your support, which enables us to implement the humanitarian emergency relief!

Other emergency relief projects

FRIENDS AND PARTNERS

Learn more

Kontakt

Address
Visions for Children e.V.
Feldstraße 36
20357 Hamburg

DON'T MISS ANY NEWS - SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER NOW.

Don't miss any news - Subscribe to our newsletter now.

Hungerfrei im Ramadan – Lebensmittel für Familien in Not in Afghanistan und der Türkei

Projektstart: 2024

Etwa 10% der Weltbevölkerung hungern – obwohl ein Leben frei von Hunger ein Menschenrecht ist. Durch jahrelange Kriege und gefährliche humanitäre Krisen sind große Teile der afghanischen und syrischen Bevölkerung inzwischen ohne Unterstützung dem Hungertod ausgeliefert. Beide Krisen drohen jedoch aus der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung zu verschwinden. 

Mit unserer diesjährigen humanitären Nothilfe zum islamischen Fastenmonat Ramadan möchten wir ein Zeichen für Solidarität setzen. Gemeinsam können wir 120 afghanische Familien und 150 Familien in der Türkei – vor allem syrische Geflüchtete – mit Lebensmittelpaketen erreichen, damit sie hungerfrei über den heiligen Monat Ramadan kommen.

Tausend Dank schon jetzt für eure Unterstützung, die diese Nothilfe ermöglicht!  

Ein Jahr nach den verheerenden Erdbeben in Syrien und der Türkei verschärft sich die Situation nur weiter. Akute Hilfsleistungen sind zu Ende gegangen, doch der Aufbau neuer Strukturen ist schleppend. Die Haushalte im Nordwesten Syriens und in der Türkei haben mit den steigenden Preisen für Grundnahrungsmittel zu kämpfen, die sie sich oft nicht mehr leisten können. Durch die hohe Arbeitslosenquote ist die Gesamtarmut auf schätzungsweise 90% angestiegen.  

Auch in Afghanistan spitzen sich seit der Machtübernahme der Taliban im August 2021 die politischen, finanziellen und humanitären Krisen immer weiter zu. Aktuell sind etwa 29,2 Millionen Menschen (fast ¾ der Bevölkerung!) auf humanitäre Hilfe durch Hilfsorganisationen angewiesen – davon sind 15,8 Millionen Kinder. Durch den Wirtschaftskollaps und Dürren wissen zahlreiche Familien nicht, woher ihre nächste Mahlzeit kommt. Etwa 13,1 Millionen Afghan*innen haben nicht ausreichend finanzielle Mittel für Lebensmittel und gehen hungrig ins Bett.  

Hungerfrei im Ramadan

Der Fastenmonat Ramadan ist einer der bedeutendsten Monate für gläubige Muslim*innen. Während dieser Zeit ist es besonders wichtig, an diejenigen zu denken, die nicht die finanziellen Mittel haben, um sich mit Lebensmitteln versorgen zu können und deshalb Hunger leiden. Neben dem eigenen Verzicht auf Essen und Trinken stehen Nächstenliebe, Mitgefühl und Solidarität im Mittelpunkt. Auch die Zakat, eine jährliche Spende an Menschen in Not, leisten viele Muslim*innen während des Ramadans. 

Unsere diesjährige Ramadan Nothilfe richtet sich aufgrund der andauernden katastrophalen Situation ein Jahr nach den schweren Erdbeben erstmalig auch an geflüchtete syrische Familien in der türkischen Stadt Hatay an der Grenze zu Syrien. Darüber hinaus wollen wir von finanzieller Armut und Hunger betroffene Familien in Mazar-e-Sharif, Afghanistan, mit Lebensmittelpaketen erreichen. Mit deiner Spende setzt du ein wichtiges Zeichen für Solidarität mit Menschen, die seit Jahren unter Vertreibungen, Gewalt, Naturkatastrophen und finanzieller Armut leiden! 

Im Rahmen der humanitären Nothilfe können wir Lebensmittelpakete an voraussichtlich 270 Familien in Not in Afghanistan und der Türkei verteilen – 120 afghanische und 150 syrische Familien. Die Pakete für die syrischen Familien beinhalten vermutlich 2kg Datteln, 8l Öl, 3kg Zucker, 3kg Reis, 3kg Nudeln, 6kg Linsen, 2,4kg Tomatenmark, 3kg Bulgur und 3l Saft. Für die Pakete afghanischer Familien sind 50kg Mehl, 24kg Reis, 10kg Bohnen, 5kg Nudeln, 2kg Tomatenmark, 2 Packungen Datteln, 1kg Tea, 7kg Zucker und 10l Öl geplant. Die Zusammensetzungen der Pakete basieren auf den Bedürfnissen in den jeweiligen Regionen, die unsere Partner*innen vor Ort ermittelt haben. Auf Grundlage von Preisschwankungen und wechselnden Verfügbarkeiten können diese sich jedoch auch noch verändern.* 

Lokale Partnerorganisationen

Die Projektorganisation vor Ort in Afghanistan übernimmt OASE (Organization of Afghan Support for Education), mit der wir schon unzählige Projekte in Afghanistan erfolgreich umsetzen konnten. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sind in Mazar-e-Scharif sehr gut vernetzt und bringen eine wertvolle Expertise für die katastrophale humanitäre Lage vor Ort mit.   

Maram ist unsere lokale Projektorganisation für die Verteilung der Nothilfe in Hatay. Wir haben die Organisation und ihre Arbeit auf unserer Projektreise im letzten Jahr nach den Erdbeben in Syrien und der Türkei persönlich kennengelernt. Seit dem Beginn des Syrien Krieges im Jahr 2011 ist die Organisation Maram tätig (ein gleichnamiges Mädchen ist die Inspiration für die Namensgebung, die beim ersten Organisationseinsatz an der syrisch-türkischen Grenze durch den Beschuss ihres Dorfes gelähmt wurde) und konnte bereits über 2 Millionen Menschen in Syrien und den benachbarten Ländern erreichen. 

Humanitäre Krisen in Afghanistan

Afghanistan ist seit der Machtübernahme der Taliban zu einer der größten humanitären Notlagen weltweit geworden. Insbesondere die Rechte für Frauen und Mädchen sind seitdem stark eingeschränkt. Neben der instabilen politischen und wirtschaftlichen Lage erschütterten zudem schwere Erdbeben im Oktober letzten Jahres die Provinzen Herat, Badghis und Farah. Viele Familien haben nicht nur ihr Zuhause, sondern ihre ganze Lebensgrundlage verloren.  

Hinzukommt, dass Afghanistan weltweit auch am härtesten vom Klimawandel betroffen ist. Verheerende Dürren, bittere Kälte und unerträgliche Hitze schwächen nicht nur die Menschen und das Vieh, sondern beeinflussen maßgeblich auch die Landwirtschaft. Es gibt kaum Wasser und die Ernten fallen ungenügend aus. Fast die Hälfte der afghanischen Bevölkerung leidet heute an Unterernährung. Derzeit sind 50% der Kinder unter 5 Jahren von Hungersnot bedroht. Die Afghan*innen gehören zur am stärksten gefährdeten Bevölkerungsgruppe und wir sind alle in der Verantwortung sie zu unterstützen, Solidarität sowie Nächstenliebe zu zeigen. 

Humanitäre Krisen in Syrien und der Türkei

Nach über 13 Jahren Konflikt und wirtschaftlicher Zerstörung ist Syrien nicht nur das Land mit der weltweit größten Zahl an Binnenvertriebenen (etwa 32% der Gesamtbevölkerung), sondern auch mit schätzungsweise 15,3 Millionen Menschen, die humanitäre Hilfe benötigen.  

Im Nordwesten Syriens sind heute von den 4,6 Millionen Einwohnern fast 90% auf humanitäre Hilfe angewiesen, die meisten von ihnen sind Frauen und Kinder. Die multidimensionalen Krisen und die Folgen des Erdbebens werden vermutlich die Stressfaktoren erheblich verstärken. In der nordwestlichen Region leiden aktuell bereits 3,3 Millionen Menschen unter Ernährungsunsicherheit. Die türkische Provinz Hatay an der Grenze zu Syrien war am stärksten von den Erdbeben betroffen, ganze Stadtteile wurden zerstört. Etwa 187.000 Menschen leben seitdem in provisorischen Containerdörfern und sind dringend auf humanitäre Unterstützung angewiesen. 

*So setzen sich die Kosten für ein Paket der Nothilfe Verteilung voraussichtlich zusammen:  

Afghanistan: Pro Paket gehen 99€ in Form von Lebensmitteln direkt an die Familien, 30€ an unsere lokale Partnerorganisation OASE für u.a. Personalkosten und die Umsetzung der Paketverteilung, 5€ fallen für Bank- und internationale Transaktionsgebühren an sowie 7€ für die Koordination der Nothilfe in Deutschland.  

Türkei/Syrien: Pro Paket gehen 53€ in Form von Lebensmitteln direkt an die Familien, 14€ an unsere lokale Partnerorganisation Maram für u.a. Personalkosten und die Umsetzung der Paketverteilung sowie 4€ für die Koordination der Nothilfe in Deutschland. 

Die einzelnen Preise können sich aufgrund von Faktoren, wie der Wechselkurs und die Schwankungen der Lebensmittelpreise, täglich ändern und damit den Gesamtpreis eines Pakets beeinflussen. Preisschwankungen haben daher einen direkten Einfluss auf die Menge der Lebensmittel, die bereitgestellt und damit auf die Anzahl der Familien, die mit den Paketen erreicht werden können.  

Wenn wir es schaffen, das Spendenziel sogar zu übertreffen, gehen die Überschüsse in unsere Bildungsprojekte. 

Tausend Dank für eure Unterstützung, die es uns ermöglicht, die humanitären Nothilfen umzusetzen! 

Weitere Nothilfeprojekte

FREUND*INNEN UND PARTNER*INNEN

Erfahre mehr

Kontakt

Adresse
Visions for Children e.V.
Feldstraße 36
20357 Hamburg

VERPASSE KEINE NEUIGKEITEN – MELDE DICH JETZT ZU UNSEREM NEWSLETTER AN.

Verpasse Keine Neuigkeiten – Melde Dich Jetzt Zu Unserem Newsletter an.